

24th October 2018 to 13th March 2019

Organising Authority: Kerikeri Cruising Club, 346 Opito Bay Road, RD1, Kerikeri Phone: (09) 407 9434 Email: keelboat@kerikericruisingclub.org.nz

Notice of Race

Open to members from any club.

1 **Rules**

- 1.1 The regatta will be governed by the "Rules" as defined in the Racing Rules of Sailing 2017–2020 (RRS).
- The Yachting New Zealand Safety Regulations Part II Category 5 shall apply to keelboats and multihulls. 1.2
- 1.3 The Yachting New Zealand Safety Regulations Part V Category C shall apply to trailer yachts.
- 1.4 The Yachting New Zealand Safety Regulations Part VI Category B shall apply to sport boats.
- 1.5 All other yachts shall comply with their appropriate class and safety rules.
- 1.6 It is compulsory that every boat have on board a functioning VHF radio plus two red and two orange flares (all less than three years old), all of which are readily accessible.
- 1.7 The required safety gear must be carried on board at all times and may be inspected for compliance with the Sailing Instructions.
- 1.8 RRS 51 Moveable Ballast is modified to allow boats with moveable/variable ballast systems and/or canting keels to compete. Boats shall comply with ISAF Special Regulations Appendix K and YNZ Safety Regulations 6.1(k) and 6.2(k).
- 1.9 RRS Rule 52 Manual Power shall not apply.
- 1.10 Between Sunset and Sunrise the "International Regulations for Preventing Collisions at Sea" will apply, replacing the relevant rules of Racing Rules of Sailing Part 2.
- 1.11 The Sailing Instructions may also change other RRS.

2 **Rating Systems**

The club General Handicap and PHRF Inshore tcfs are to be used for all races in this series.

3 **Eligibility and Entry**

- 3.1 The series is open to all keelboats and multihulls that meet the requirements of clause 1.2, to trailer yachts that meet the requirements of Clause 1.3, to sport boats that meet the requirements of Clause 1.4 and to all other yachts that meet the requirements of Clause 1.5.
- 3.2 Eligible boats may enter each race prior to the race five minute warning signal by completing the race or series entry form in the Kerikeri Cruising Club's start box.
- 3.3 Individual race entries will also be accepted by VHF channel 77 or phone (407 9434) prior to the five minute warning signal of each race.
- 3.4 A race entry fee of \$7 per boat must be paid before each day's race prize giving, failing which that boat will be scored DNC.
- 3.5 A minimum of one (1) boat must be entered and start in either division to constitute a race.
- The entrant's helmsperson shall be a full financial member of the Kerikeri Cruising Club, or if a visitor must be 3.6 a financial member of a yacht club affiliated to Yachting New Zealand.

4 **Race Schedule**

		_
Date	Time of first warning signal	Race
24 th October	1755	1
7 th November	1755	2
21 st November	1755	3
5 th December	1755	4
19 th December	1755	5



16 th January	1755	6
30 th January	1755	7
13 th February	1755	8
27 th February	1755	9
13 th March	1755	10

5 Racing Area

The races will be held in the area of the Bay of Islands.

6 Scoring

- 6.1 The Low Point System of Appendix A of the RRS will apply.
- 6.2 RRS Appendix A8 Series Ties will apply.
- 6.3 Six races are required to be completed to constitute a series for each division.

7 Sailing Instructions and Course Sheets

The Sailing Instructions and course sheets will be made available in the Kerikeri Cruising Club's start box and on the web site at www.kerikericruisingclub.org.nz.

8 Prizes

- 8.1 The daily race prize giving will be held in the Kerikeri Cruising Club no sooner than thirty minutes after the last boat has completed the course.
- 8.2 Visiting yacht entries are eligible for race prizes but not for club trophies.
- 8.3 The following prizes courtesy of **Scottronic Technologies** shall be awarded in each division:

Beer or soft drink option for the first three boats on handicap in each division dependant on the number of starters.

Points from this series will be applied to the Divisional Championship series.

Wednesday Night trophies for the series winners in each division on handicap.